My maths PDFs are now on my website (#fuzzylogic, #DCF)

I have set up virtual hosting on my Nginx server to support multiple hosts. Now my PDFs are available via HTTP as well as FTP. Check out the site: http://pdf.markcarter.me.uk

There are only two articles at the moment:

  1. aswath.pdf – a useable document detailing my  Python Aswath Module, which reproduces some of the DCF models used by Aswath Damodaran
  2. defuzz.pdf – which investigates the simplification of the defuzzification process in Fuzzy Logic.

I am excited about a couple of other articles that I am writing. One is a mathematical diversion about leaning ladders on a wall (you can really write articles about that?), and another one is about simplifying the antecedants in Fuzzy Logic problems. I wrote a Python program which solved a complete problem in under 100 lines, which includes code for the “toolbox”. Very neat.

Although my website/blog is seen by most as investing-related, the mathematical and programming articles are beginning to attract more interest. Might I even start digging out parts of my PhD thesis and turning them into blog articles and YouTube videos? When I did my PhD, YT was unheard of. However, I think that the systems I studied might make good videos. Earlier this year, I saw a video of a beehive where the bees moved in such a way that “waves” appeared to propagate over the hive. That was very interesting, because it very much reminded me of the excitable reaction-diffusion systems I had been studying for my PhD.

It’s very difficult finding all the time to fit my interests in.

About mcturra2000

Computer programmer living in Scotland.
This entry was posted in Mathematics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My maths PDFs are now on my website (#fuzzylogic, #DCF)

  1. jgarrigan80 says:

    Hi mcturra,

    I’m a new follower and I’m loving the posts. I’m working as a telecoms engineer but thinking of heading back to uni to get a masters in data analytics. I’m relearning how to program again after avoiding it like the plague in my early years. I think having a tech background and knowledge of investing is a powerful combo so I’d love to see a few YT vids. I’m a visual learner and I think YT is a great learning platform for people like me. I look forward to future posts.

    John

    • mcturra2000 says:

      Thanks. I’m glad you like my posts.

      A lot of my PhD work in excitable reaction diffusion systems probably lends itself well to visualisation. Animating the simulations would be a not inconsiderable project, not least because I haven’t touched my PhD work in over a decade.

      On the plus side, the results would be fairly unique, because it’s quite a narrow field.

Leave a Reply

