$ASC.L – ASOS – a quick’n’ dirty valuation

ASC (ASOS) finals are out today, prompting Paul Scott to tweet: “Lousy figures from ASOS. Is this co really any good? Have my doubts. Op margin only 5%. Profits down”. The market response was very positive, though, sending the shares up 16.4% to 2263p, as at the time of writing.

The shares are down 62.9% YTD, and down nearly 69% from their all-time high of 7195p. When high growth, high momentum shares stall, they do so with fanfare. I had written in the past that I valued ASC at about £20 per share. To my amazement, the shares actually reached that level. It just goes to show: if you wait long enough, then you will often find that things go your way.

A number of incidents happened to ASC since that valuation, and I said that it would probably need to be revised downwards. I thought it might be worth trying to value ASC again. I am being lazy, so I will use the application that I just published as a two-phase growth model. Here’s what the screenshot looks like:

asc

I have been really sloppy as regards cost of capital, and so-forth. I just simply wanted a quick estimate. As you can see, the company looks to be worth about £1200m, or 1440pps, which is significantly below its current market cap of £1900m.

A better model would use a three-phase growth model, which would make it much more valuable than the figures I have suggested. Work would also need to be done on the assumptions about the cost of capital and terminal figures.

Nevertheless, I think you’d have to put in some pretty wacky assumptions to reach Barclay’s former share target of 8000p. I am completely puzzled as to how they came out with that figure. Even using a three-phase model with robust growth assumptions, I did not come out with anything like their valuation. It’s also difficult to see what pricing models they might have been using. Seriously, I think much of the time analyst’s target prices make no sense. They mostly seem to be anchored on prevailing share prices, tweaked with momentum expectations. I don’t see how else they can do it.

It will be interesting to see what happens from here.

About mcturra2000

Computer programmer living in Scotland.
This entry was posted in Aswath and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

