My #Manga drawing for October

I haven’t been doing much drawing this month, on account of doing a lot of work on mathematics. I did a quick sketch the other day of some character, but unfortunately I don’t know who it is. I still have a long way to go, but I think it’s important to celebrate your victories.

The sketch I did was fairly quick. I think one of the hard things for artists to do is to let go of expectations. Maybe it’s just me. We of course want to produce good works that really capture our subject, but I find that brings a kind of performance anxiety, and takes away the fun of drawing.

Although my drawing does have some problems with proportions, I notice that my lines are getting “free-er”. Although I can’t quantify it, I feel that my technique is getting more “artistic”. I’m losing some of the “mechanicalness”, and breathing some “style” into my drawings. Characters seem to look more expressive, more emotional. I am thinking of buying the book “Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain”, to see if my drawing improves even more.

oct

About mcturra2000

Computer programmer living in Scotland.
This entry was posted in Art and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

