$SHOE.L – Shoe Zone – my investing disaster

SHOE (Shoe Zone) is a chain of shoe shops.

I bought on 20 April 2015 at 258p. The company had a stock rank of 93, a Piotroski score of 8, and a yield of 5.2%. It passed the screen of screens, including the Value Momentum screen. The odds looked good to me, so I bought.

What could possibly go wrong? The trading statement issued the following day, that’s what. The weather was blamed, and the fateful words “below market expectations” sent the shares down 28.2% to 185p. Needless to say, I was not a happy bunny.

At that point, I decided that my investment was a bust idea, and wanted out. The question is: should I bail out there and then, or wait? I consulted my decision matrix (http://is.gd/WUoFcJ). The combination of cheapness and high momentum suggested to me that I should hold onto them for awhile, and hope for a recovery within 90 days. If it weren’t for the fact that they were cheap, a sell would have been in order.

Share price declines continued, and in fact lasted much longer, and were deeper, than I expected. The shares finally bottomed at 160p on 27 April. There was a quick recovery to 175p. Presumably it was around about those levels that people decided to bail out, and short-term traders took their profits. The flat-lined for awhile before bottoming out at 160p again on 7 May.

The shares recovered subsequently. I decided to bail today at 188.8p, figuring that I wasn’t expecting much better.

Maybe the company will go on to recover nicely, and in fact grow. It has left a sour taste in my mouth, though.

At the time, I noted that the company was listed on AIM and had a listing period of less than a year. I was aware of these facts as potential red flags, but, alas, I was seduced by the mechanical screens.

I’ll see how the shares fared 6 months down the line. My suspicion is that, unless the company pulls a rabbit out of the hat, the shares won’t go anywhere.

BWTFDIK. Not one of my better ideas.

About mcturra2000

Computer programmer living in Scotland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

