Thinking about growing my hair for charity

In the 80’s I used to have comparitively long hair. My heuristic for deciding to cut my hair was when it interfered with my eyes. I had a “watershed” moment in 1995/6 when I was working on my PhD. There was a bet for me to have my head shaved. Ever since then I have been keeping my hair very short. I used to take it either down to the bone (pretty rare, actually) or a number 4 at most. I used to cut my hair myself, but when I moved back with my parents I got my dad to do it. I think my dad doesn’t want to do it anymore, as it’s too much hassle. I don’t want to go the barbers, because it’s like six quid for a haircut. I’m unemployed at the moment, so I don’t want to cough up six quid for a haircut. I have to be extra careful with money. I’ve hit upon a Plan B; which is to say, not cut it at all. If I grow it long enough, I will even be able to give it to charity, which I think is a great idea. Human hair is used to make wigs for people with cancer. Due to my advancing years, I have quite a lot of grey hair. Fortunately, there are some that accept it. It’s something I want to do , but I guess I’ll have to see how I feel about it as my hair lengthens. I don’t know what I’m going to do when my hair gets down to eye level. Let’s see if I can go through with it.

My hair at about 4-5 months length, albeit starting from a length close to 0. I think I've got the

My hair at about 4-5 months length, albeit starting from a length close to 0. I think I’ve got the “bed head” look down to a T.

About mcturra2000

Computer programmer living in Scotland.
This entry was posted in Pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

