Four Ways to Forgiveness by Ursula K Le Guin – review – I gave up

“Four Ways to Forgiveness” (FWtF) is a collection of four novellas by Ursula K Le Guin. Frankly, I was disappointed, and I gave up on the book half-way through.

I borrowed the book from my local library. I was impressed by another of her works, “The Lathe of Heaven” (LoH). It has an excellent premise: a psychiatrist manipulates the subconscious of man whose dreams become reality, with devastating consequences.

I want my sci-fi to be plot-driven, with lots of original ideas. Whilst LoH gave me that, FWtF did not. They were character studies featuring relationships between men and women. So, I am sorry to say, FWtF was not for me, and I decided to abandon it half-way through, rather than trudge through to the end.

The reviews on Goodreads were uniformly positive, so what would I know?

Just my two cents.

Surely I can’t be the only one out there that thinks the book “wasn’t all that”, can I?

About mcturra2000

Computer programmer living in Scotland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

