Surprisingly, technical analysis saved me

I bought shares in APH (Alliance Pharma) in April 2014 for 33.8p. By the merest stroke of coincidence, I was out at 49.9p yesterday, just in time to avoid its fall of nearly 10% today to 46p. Sometimes you just get lucky like that.

How was I able to do this? Stoplosses! I set a 20% stoploss below the 52w high, which was triggered yesterday. The 52w high is 61.13p, so that would be a stoploss of 48.9p.

It was not a share that I wanted to talk about, as I did not think it had any interest value until today. Here’s my notes from my trading diary: “Sold out at 49.9p, for a 47.6% gain over 19 months. Not bad. Reason: shares in downtrend since Aug and 20% from high stoploss triggered. Revenues flat over 5 years, so I’ve lost interest. ROCE has steadily been declining since 2011. Valuation is reasonable”.

Here’s the chart:

image10

As you can see, there was a massive run-up from Dec 2014 to Aug 2015. Momentum then petered out.

There was a placing today that the market did not take kindly to. I actually wonder if the markets knew about it all along, judging by the chart.

I am being increasingly switched on to the idea of using stoplosses. Although I was not persuing a momentum strategy with APH, I am coming to believe that stoplosses are a crucial component of momentum investing. After all, how else would you know when to get out?

46p

 

About mcturra2000

Computer programmer living in Scotland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

