CRAW – Crawshaws

Interesting reading Paul Scott’s report on CRAW (Crawshaws) today. I didn’t know results are out. I imagine most people have heard of CRAW by now. They run a chain of butchers.

I think I saw shares trade down more than 10% earlier on, but they seem to have stabilised at down 8.3% to 23.38p.

Paul reports LFL down 3.8%. His conclusion: “I think there’s a reasonable chance that the share price could stage a partial recovery”.

I have been hugely envious of the investors holding these shares in the past. I have seen them make excellent calls on it, buying probably around the 4p mark, only to see it shoot up above 90p. I bet there are hotshots out there like Robbie Burns, and others, that made a fortune on this one. The trick is to apply stop-losses.

I have been on the sidelines all along. I notice that the shares made a huge drop in September. If you had sold after the drop, you could have realised about 33p, which is much better than the 23.4p I see today.

Management seem to have a hard time telling the truth. I think they really need to be more up-front with shareholders.

Personally, if I were holding this share, I would probably dump it. That LFL drop is not good news at all. On reflection, if the company were able to make, let’s say, 1m in profit, slap on a PE of 10, you’d probably be looking at a market cap of £10m, half what it is at the moment.

So basically, there’s nothing to say that the share price can’t halve from here.

BWTFDIK? I’m just shooting from the hip. There’s a good chance I’ll look foolish for saying that six months down the line.

Stay safe out there.

About mcturra2000

Computer programmer living in Scotland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

